One Second Every Day – February 2017 – Sydney and NSW, Australia

I’ve been recording one-second video clips every day since 2014. This has been a great way to preserve those memories from all of our travels. I highly recommend the 1 Second Everyday app to do the same! You will enjoy looking back at those videos. There is something beautiful to capture every single day, no matter how mundane. Check out my other One Second Every Day video clips!

February 2017 – a short month but packed with adventures! I finished up my job as an English teacher in Sydney and then went onward to the make the most of the remaining six months in Australia. We did a Help Exchange with a spunky 69-year-old renovating her outdoor bathroom before housesitting in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney – perhaps one of my favorite places in the entire country. After a week with the sweet tiny dog, we went off to do another Help Exchange on an organic hobby farm in the Central Coast. Rob and Sue were actually the parents of another Help Exchange we did in Sydney months earlier – we were their first helpers and I hope it was a positive experience for them as it was for us! If it wasn’t for that opportunity, we would have never discovered Maitland Bay at Bouddi National Park – truly a gem!

Then we said goodbye to the Sydney area and headed down the coast where we celebrated my birthday at a CouchSurfing host’s home. She surprised me with a cake!! I returned the favor by making dinner for her and her family the following day. She accepted us as guests because I am an adoptee and she is an adoptive mother, so we bonded over that.

From there, we admired some beach views before heading inland for my first sky dive followed by a boring day in Canberra, the capital of Australia. By the end of the month, we ended up at Wilson’s Promontory. I actually cried when first coming to views of the pristine coasts; it is rare that I am so blown away to the point of tears. I always recommend Wilson’s Prom to any traveler in Australia!

Leave a comment