Random Interactions with Koreans #1

Every day, I experience some kind of interesting interaction with a Korean person. I’ll share some of these interactions in between my longer blog posts. Here’s something from today.

There’s a male teacher, a few years older than me, at my visiting school with whom I interact occasionally. Today, at lunch, he said, “Lianne, what do you think about Koreans sharing food?” Usually, Koreans eat “family style” with the main and side dishes, even soups, in the middle, free for anyone to grab and eat as they wish. Germaphobes, take note. However, we receive our own dishes at school lunch.

“I think it’s great.”

Then he proceeded to a snatch pepper from my plate, dipped it in some remaining kimchi sauce, and popped it into his mouth.

Leave a Reply

