Korean Language Classes

안녕하세요. 저는 리안입니다. 저는 미국사람입니다. 등산 하고 김치 좋아해요. Hello. I am Lianne. I am American. I like hiking and kimchi.

I know the very basic level of survival Korean. I can read Hangeul (Korean alphabet) and I can get by with vocabulary. Stringing sentences together, however, is another story. I never bothered to learn proper grammar because all I cared about was having enough to get by with words. Being an EFL teacher changed that perspective. I want to learn Korean properly, but I also do not want to sound creepy and formal like some of the key expression the textbook teaches elementary children. “I’ll have a Halloween party this Saturday. Can you join us?” Really.

I had my first Korean class at 존남대학교, or Chonnam National University. The Gwangju Metropolitan Office of Education is the only one to provide free Korean classes for the EPIK teachers. Of course, I had to take advantage of this opportunity. Besides traveling, learning the language is one of the most important things I do while I am here. I want to be able to have a real conversation with my birth parents. I decided to skip beginner class because I did not want to re-learn Hangeul and I knew the material covered in beginners. On the first day of class, I was pleased to find that most people in the class are around my level. However, there are a handful of Fulbright scholars who were immersed in the language through an intense study program as well as living with a host family. Their Korean is quite impressive; I hope to be at that point one day. While it does intimidate me, it serves more as a motivator.

Two hours a day, two times a week for twelve weeks. I’ll keep this updated with my progress!

2 comments

  1. Hi! This is very random and I’m pretty wary of the internet & its strangers… but I just wanted to say I’m so inspired by your blog. You are a great writer and blogger and have a great outlook on life. I initially found your site by googling “halloween” and “korea” because I was wondering if there were any Halloween parties in Korea this year. So random, I know. Anyway, I wish the best for you and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Korea. Thanks for the inspiration! Sherry

  2. Hi, Sherry. Wow, you have no idea how much that means to me! I thought only a few friends read this blog. Thanks so much for your kind words. It is definitely motivating to keep writing!

Leave a Reply

