Happy Hanukkah

Me: “My mom is Jewish”

Other people: (staring at my Asian face) ???????????????????

Story of my life.

Get into the holiday spirit by donating a few bucks for Korean orphans so they can have somewhat of a Christmas. I could have been one of those kids but I’m fortunate enough to be adopted like a dog in a pet store. The least I can do is get a kid a toy and a meal for the holidays.

Make your own coffee for a week and opt out of the muddy Starbucks. You’ll survive and your blood sugar level will thank you. I pinky promise. If you don’t feel strongly about this organization, please consider donating to local organizations to help homeless people in your area or any charity or cause for which you feel strongly.

Right now, I feel more connected to Korea than America yet some times I feel the complete opposite.

 

Today (technically yesterday) is the first day of December. It was a warm Florida day yesterday. It deceived me as I walked out the door to head to work without a jacket. Silly me. It was freezing! I quickly packed some extra clothes for tonight’s festivities. After work, I changed clothes in the car and ran over downtown to see some lovely faces I have missed. I went to Art Walk for the first time in quite some time, staying in my comfort zone that is Adams Street. I ran into a friend and we had a local Jacksonville brew in the back of a gallery/restaurant/bar. An old friend joined and we danced to a live band and was joined by a random girl named Sophia. She was outrageously fun and outgoing, giving us hugs and staring intensely at us while she jumped on stage to sing “What’s Going On”. We spent some time at the old library, a huge empty building, for some new art and enjoyed some cheap wine and snacks in the laid back atmosphere. Outside I danced to some DJ and saw some faces of beautiful friends whom I have not seen in months. Of course I saw my best friend in from Atlanta, but the popular little devil kept getting swept up by everyone in Jacksonville who loves and adores her. We went to Five Points for a friend’s band behind a clothing store. I saw so many people I love. I hate on Jacksonville but I don’t know if I’ll ever meet a more incredible group of people. This city is tremendous yet we all know each other. Even if we don’t know each other we’re still connected in this interconnected group that glows with positivity. I will truly miss these kind of nights. I warmed up by a fire and danced to friends playing some fun music. It is so cold out yet I feel so warm inside right now.

Donate a few bucks for Korean orphans. I could have been one of those kids but I’m fortunate enough to be adopted like a dog in a pet store. $10 will get a kid a toy and a meal for the holidays. Make your own coffee for a week and opt out of the muddy Starbucks. You’ll survive and your blood sugar level will thank you. I pinky promise. If you don’t feel strongly about this organization, please consider donating to local organizations to help homeless people in your area or any charity or cause for which you feel strongly. At this point I feel more connected to Korea than America yet some times I feel like I’ll never be Korean. Most of the time, I think whatever… I belong to this world.

Leave a Reply

